Simple, Healthy Spaghetti Sauce

I have always been a big pasta fan! Family dinners growing up often consisted of my Dad’s pasta sauce, more than one helping and a few pieces of Italian bread.  Surprisingly, we’re not Italian!

Over the years, as I’ve gotten older, carbohydrates, large portion sizes, and 3 pregnancies had really hit the waistline!! I switched from traditional pasta to wheat pasta; and recently I developed a huge love for Spaghetti Squash. Seriously, it’s soooo good! I also made adjustments to the Sauce I was using and thought I would share this simple, yet healthy recipe.

What you’ll Need:

  • Olive Oil (for cooking)
  • 1 Pepper (any color)
  • 1 Onion (red or sweet)
  • 1- 14 oz. can Diced Tomatoes (plain or with seasonings)
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Minced Garlic
  • 1 Jar Organic Spaghetti Sauce (I used Pellicano’s)

**This is a chunky vegetable sauce, but you can add 1 pound ground beef or ground turkey to make it a meat sauce and add some protein.**

Step 1: Diced the Pepper and Onion.

Step 2: Saute the vegetables in Olive Oil with 1 tsp minced Garlic (1-2 cloves) and 1 tsp Italian Seasoning. Cook until softened.

1020151735

Step 3: Add the can of diced tomatoes. Let cook 1-2 minutes then add the jar of Spaghetti Sauce and simmer for about 5 minutes.

 

Step 4: Serve over Pasta of your choice, or as I mentioned, my new favorite Spaghetti Squash. Enjoy!!

1201151150

Condensed Recipes Details

Ingredients:

  • Olive Oil (for cooking)
  • 1 Pepper (any color)
  • 1 Onion (red or sweet)
  • 1- 14 oz. can Diced Tomatoes (plain or with seasonings)
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Minced Garlic
  • 1 Jar Organic Spaghetti Sauce (I used Pellicano’s)

**This is a chunky vegetable sauce, but you can add 1 pound ground beef or ground turkey to make it a meat sauce and add some protein.**

  1. Diced the Pepper and Onion.
  2. Saute the vegetables in Olive Oil with 1 tsp minced Garlic (1-2 cloves) and 1 tsp Italian Seasoning. Cook until softened.
  3. Add the can of diced tomatoes. Let cook 1-2 minutes then add the jar of Spaghetti Sauce and simmer for about 5 minutes.
  4. Serve over Pasta of your choice, or as I mentioned, my new favorite Spaghetti Squash. Enjoy!!

 

Until next time……Thea 🙂

If you’d like to read more select “follow” on the bottom tool bar from your PC OR “Like” me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/rusupermom.

 

Leave a Reply

