Mom Brain!

People talk a lot about pregnancy brain and it’s something that I’ve definitely experienced. I used to have an incredible memory and now most days I’m lucky if I remember just the daily tasks. The thing I have discovered about pregnancy brain is that once you have children it turns into MOM BRAIN! As a mom we all have a lot to remember! We are typically the organizer of our home. We care for our children, our husband (obviously) and lastly, ourselves! For our kids we feed them, bath them, and for me, with a Kindergartener and Preschooler I need to get them to school & remember what is needed for school….oh and did they even brush their teeth this morning? They did right…..? Or am I remembering yesterday morning? Not sure, I have mom brain!

Lately, it’s been getting a bit excessive. I’ve run into people I grew up with and I barely remember them. It’s as if my brain has become too full of memories that it is now replacing old ones for new ones. With the end of the year events and to do’s; field trips, dance recitals, registration for summer programs, and planning/completing of stuff! Its fries my brain and left me in a haze…..

Brain silent treatment

More often I have also been forgetting myself. For example; I’ve left the house without brushing my teeth to take my son to preschool. That is the one main thing I don’t do! I’ve loosened up on my make-up standards but brushing my teeth is a must. I also was rushed all morning the day of my daughters dance recital that once we got there I noticed I hadn’t changed out of my jeans and t-shirt. I wasn’t going to be super dressy, but black capri’s and a nice shirt would have been much better! OH, and last week I left my front door open when I drove Piece’s to the bus stop!!

I can’t change those things and really they aren’t a huge deal, but this constant haze from my mom brain has made me feel socially awkward at times. I say things that don’t even make sense, or that are unintentionally hurtful to others. It’s so frustrating! I hope that my friends and family are forgiving. I know that they appreciate me for who I am, and they know I mean well, but I’m getting annoyed at myself for my complete lack of brain function! I feel like I spend most days with this half blank stare, half look of confusion!

Confusion pic

If someone has any advice on how to combat this please let me know. I sat down to write this post and realized I needed to check our bank account. That lead to a couple minutes on our online account, to wondering why I got on the computer, to checking my email and finally leaving my desk. By the time I got to the kitchen my thought process came back to me and I returned to the computer. Oh the joys! I feel like I walk in circles sometimes recounting my last steps to see if I’ll remember one of the 100 things I try to get done in a day.

I know I’m not alone. I know that many of you moms out there are also struggling with Mom Brain in some shape or form, so I thought I would write this post to give you some comfort. And maybe a little bit to explain myself to some of those individuals in my life who may think I’ve lost it.  So if I’ve forgotten who you are or said something hurtful; I want to say I’m genuinely sorry! Please be forgiving with me; I’m suffering from a pretty bad case of MOM BRAIN!!

Until next time… Thea

If you’d like to read more select “follow” on the bottom tool bar from your PC OR “Like” me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/rusupermom.

One thought on “Mom Brain!

Leave a Reply

