Hormones….you suck!

hormones making women crazy

If anyone has seen my sane self around, please return her! I told my husband the other day I am just feeling straight up crazy lately. He gave me an eyebrow raise and said, “This is different from the usual how?” He’s right! I am a bit nutty regularly. I tell him he’s my rock and he tells me I’m his tornado, LOL! But really, after having 3 children in less than 5 years I’ve dealt with the ups and downs of pregnancy hormones, to the nursing hormones, to a state of postpartum depression!

I’m on my second type of birth control since June and I will be switching to another here shortly. I’ve always been sensitive to them (they make me feel crazy) but since I’ve started taking them again this time around my body just seems pissed off!

Lately, I’ll be happy kissing and loving on my little ones,

happy mom

and within 5 minutes I snap!

angry-mom

They are usually doing something they shouldn’t, or not listening, but snapping at a degree that is not needed. And it just feels like an out-of-body experience sometimes. The highs and lows of hormonal changes at this age take me back in time to those years of teen angst. When you feel like you have no control because your brain can’t keep up and register the insanity that is going on!

I was talking with one of my besties recently about my frustrations and she said to me, “These are the things people don’t tell you.” And she’s right. People talk about the joys of motherhood, but they don’t talk about the effect it takes on your body physically,  mentally and hormonally! It’s totally worth it, yes. But sometimes just knowing you’re not alone, that how your feeling, what you’re going through, is normal. That can give you some inner peace.

Being a girl is tough! I love that I was able to have the experience of having my kids! I did not particularly enjoy pregnancy, but I’m glad I was able to have that experience three times. The joy I feel from seeing my little ones grow up is something I can barely put into words, but I just want to get back to being myself again……

So in closing today, I’m just going to say, “Hormones, you suck!”

Until next time…. Thea 🙂

If you’d like to read more select “follow” on the bottom tool bar from your PC OR “Like” me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/rusupermom.

4 thoughts on “Hormones….you suck!

  1. I have been pretty lucky in my pregnancy that I really haven’t felt the crazy emotional impact of hormones up until recently when I am at the very end. I’ve had my struggles with the “blues” over the years so I am anticipating that I will have the baby blues too, after her arrival. Hang in there!

    • I’m glad to hear that you have been feeling pretty good thus far. It’s strange, even though I didn’t like pregnancy much, I felt a bit of inner peace knowing there was an end. But it can be tough the highs and lows your body goes through. What I will tell you, is it is all worth it! I remember when my first was about 10 days old and I was crying for now reason and then I just looked at her and said, “I’ll totally do this again!”

Leave a Reply

