Learning to RUN

I mentioned in my previous 2015 resolution post (2015 Resolutions) my goal to run two half marathons this year. I’ve run two in the past, but I wasn’t always a runner. Actually, I used to HATE running! I loved playing sports and still do, but just going for a run was terribly boring and annoying to me. I would take 20 minutes of sprint drills over a 2 mile run any day. I just DID NOT LIKE TO RUN!

I’ve been active my whole life, playing recreational soccer and softball, and doing various fitness workouts over the years. But after I had my second child I set a goal to train for a half marathon for two reasons. One, to help me lose the baby weight. Because for most of us moms it takes a LOT of work to get it off. And two, to challenge myself to do something I never, EVER thought I would do. I started a 5 month training schedule and I couldn’t believe that I DID IT! It was a really an amazing feeling! It gave me even more respect for my body, especially after pregnancy. I’d ballooned to over 200 lbs during my first two pregnancies! And then look what I had done!

I ran my second half marathon 5 months to the day after having my third child; via c-section I might add. I had a lot less time to train, and it showed. I dragged through the last 3 miles and was literally chanting to myself, “you can do this! you can do this!” And I did. I tell you this not to boast about my accomplishments but to say that your body is so much more capable than you realize! It really and truly is!

Running-Lessons

During all of this I developed a major love for running! It’s become my release, my challenge, and honestly, my sanity. As a person who has always struggled with anxiety there is nothing like a long run to get your head clear and straight again.

There are countless resources on the web regarding training programs. I have taken the information from many sites to make a schedule that works for me. Here’s a link to the training schedule I will be using to prepare for my next half marathon this Spring; FC Half Marathon Training 2015. If there are any locals interested in training I would LOVE to have a running buddy or two!

For anyone interested in running. People have said to me many times, “I’d love to run,” “How do I get started?” and really it’s simple. You just get some sneakers, gym clothes, a sports bra for the ladies, and you just do it! If you’re a total beginner I would recommend checking out the Couch to 5K running program or app at http://www.active.com/mobile/couch-to-5k-app. They start you with short run/long walk intervals and build up to running a full 5K. It’s a great way to get started! And for anyone with doubts, this image below is so very true! Push through to a better you!

voice_in_your_head runner

Until next time…… Thea 🙂

If you’d like to read more select “follow” on the bottom tool bar from your PC OR “Like” me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/rusupermom.

Leave a Reply

