A Moment in Time

Quotation-Aainaa-Ridtz-heart-life-love-consciousness-Meetville-Quotes-270651

It was one of those weeks! I popped my back on Monday morning, one of the bad ones, but there were things to do so I continued on trying to ignore it. Despite the pain, I went to soccer Monday night. On Tuesday I had to shovel the foot plus of snow from around my SUV. Dealing with that every day is way too annoying! Needless to say, I was a hot mess; throbbing from my neck to my tailbone mess. Sigh! Sometimes life just gets in the way of your plans.

I had so many things I planned to do this week, but my back was killing me. The kids all got a nasty cold, spiking a mild fever off and on, and I discovered the baby is cutting all four of her first molars. The poor kid had a delirious look in her eye, and hasn’t been able to eat much of anything. All the kids had a cough and Miss T (our 14 month old baby) was up off and on most nights. So, you know, I was tired and cranky from the lack of sleep and exercise.

Then the night before last Miss T woke up and I brought her into our room since we keep a pack n play in there. I was rocking her in the dark with a faint light in the sky as I looked out our back window and I realize it’s been just over a month since I weaned her from nursing. We used to have these times in the wee hours of the morning together as she adjusted to sharing a room with her sister. She’d stir, her sister would yell to us, and I’d bring her to our room to nurse her back to sleep.

It’s only been 5 weeks since I last nursed her, but it feels like so much has changed since then. She seems so much bigger and more independent. Time just flies by! I look at her sleeping in my arms and start to tear up with the realization that these moments in time are so fleeting. I stare at her, trying to capture this moment, as if filing it away into a memory log in my mind. I smile at her. I know there are so many great moments to come, but I also feel heavy hearted from all the moments that have quickly come and gone in the blink of an eye. Will I remember this a year from now, or better yet ten? I forget about all the things that didn’t get done this week and the stress goes away. I feel blessed for all that I have, for my life is very full. I look at her and breathe it in, her drool soaking my shirt and her husky breath as she fights this cold. I hold on to it for as long as I can…desperately trying to save and remember this one single moment in time!

mom with baby b&w

If you’d like to read more select “follow” on the bottom tool bar from your PC OR “Like” me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/rusupermom.

3 thoughts on “A Moment in Time

  1. You’re right, children growing up passes by in the blink of an eye. Days are long, but the years are short has been a popular saying. But it’s good that you realize that and savor every bit of your time with her. I think that’s most important. Thanks for such an endearing post 🙂

  2. You are right! sometimes, we so want to capture a moment, a loved ones face, expressions in the camera roll of our minds…
    It’s mesmerising to see yet again how a mother loves unconditionally…respect you!

Leave a Reply

